Inspiring blog I found recently :)

Posted: May 7, 2011 in Software development

A fact I didn’t mentioned before is that I am a Software Developer (take it as a programmer). And I really love that fact because I love programming. I am not  the great expert that I want to be, not yet. But I’m on my way to become one. 🙂 Of course along with the ups I have some downs about my programming powers 🙂 But then, I always find something that inspires me and brings me back on the track believing in my skills and strength. Today it’s that blog post I found accidentally 🙂 Here are the few notes that made me smile and inspired me to continue learning and doing my best to become a great programmer.

A 5 rule checklist for web developer internship survival

5) IT’S OK TO ADMIT YOU DON’T KNOW. AND TO MAKE MISTAKES.
4) DON’T BELIEVE THE HYPE (LEAVE THE FOLKLORE AT HOME)
3) “AN EASY GAME IS A CONTRADICTION IN TERMS”
2) “REAL ARTISTS SHIP”
1) IT’S OFTEN JUST A TYPO (BTW SMILE. AND LAUGH. IT WORKS.)

Variables are not boxes and healthy habits for programmers

1) DO NOT THINK OF VARIABLES AS BOXES. THINK BINDING
2) STUDY DATA TYPES AND DON’T CHANGE YOUR STYLE ARBITRARILY
3) TEST ALL POSSIBLE BRANCHES (EACH SPECIFIC PATH) OF THE PROGRAM
4) EAT APPLES, WRITE COMMENTS
5) EAT BRUSSELS SPROUTS, AND CHOOSE YOUR VARIABLE NAMES WELL

I really liked the 4th and 5th rules 😉

Leave a Reply

