Sir Isaac Newton & Leonhard Euler

Posted: April 17, 2011 in Inspiring Scientists
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve always had strong feelings for science and scientists. I don’t know why is that so, I am not a great brain or something…. maybe it comes from my parents who are involved in the educational field… I just love to listen people talking about mathematics, physics and related. Not always I get all the stuff, but I always get that heart bumping :) when I listen to the talks.  Like now, a moments ago I read this wiki article about Euler and I got so excited and expired that I decided to start a section in my blog for the greatest scientists of all the time who expire me personally. I begin with: Sir Isaac Newton & Leonhard Euler.  I don’t rank them by any order. It’s just my personal choice for particular moment and each one of them is my number one.

Newton (fun thing that I really enjoy is that in my hometown my father is known as Newton among his fellows, haha)

“After his death, Newton’s body was discovered to have had massive amounts of mercury in it, probably resulting from his alchemical pursuits. Mercury poisoning could explain Newton’s eccentricity in late life.”

“English poet Alexander Pope was moved by Newton’s accomplishments to write the famous epitaph:

Nature and nature’s laws lay hid in night;
God said “Let Newton be” and all was light.  

Euler 

“Euler’s eyesight worsened throughout his mathematical career. Even so, his condition appeared to have little effect on his productivity, as he compensated for it with his mental calculation skills and photographic memory. For example, Euler could repeat the Aeneid of Virgil from beginning to end without hesitation, and for every page in the edition he could indicate which line was the first and which the last. With the aid of his scribes, Euler’s productivity on many areas of study actually increased. He produced on average one mathematical paper every week in the year 1775.

Leave a Reply

